Posted by: Jay | March 10, 2008

Latest On My Issue

I was pretty certain it would come to this, but it looks like I am going to have to wait until 2010 to get my record expunged in NJ before I can legally own a firearm of any kind (save for blackpowder). The sources I have are well versed on the matter and said that basically it is a crap-shoot. Even if I was to get past the Brady check or bought from somebody privately, I could still be leaving myself open to prosecution and I’d rather not take that chance.

It’s disheartening. Moreso because my son really enjoys target shooting. He got a Daisy BB gun for his eleventh birthday last month and the kid is a good shot! I’ll post a video I made this week and the experts can tell me about his form and what, if anything should change. I would love at some point to purchase for him a Cricket .22 or something similar and see how well he does with the real deal. But now I won’t be able to for at least the next two years and it just bothers me. I’m pissed off at myself for being so stupid when I was younger, and it pisses me off that the laws are so stupid. The law truly is an ass.

Of course, this is just going to make me more of an advocate for change and even stronger supporter of second amendment rights. I’ve decided that this is going to be my full-time blog. I’ve got another blog that deals largely with pop culture and sports. I had grown tired of blogging about politics, but this is different. And this is more important than what I think about the latest episode of ‘Lost.’ It’s funny because for awhile I had actually contemplated voting for Barack Obama, not because I agree with him on anything, but because I felt a change of that magnitude would be a wake up call to the political establishment in DC. However, knowing Obama’s view in the Heller case, which completely contradicts his supposed support for 2nd amendment rights, I can no longer in good conscience, even consider it.

From the bottom of my heart, I want to thank those who have helped and have given me advice. We’re all busy people and several people have taken time out of their schedule to lend me a helping hand and all I did was ask.


Responses

  1. […] For Jay, who doesn’t feel like gambling. […]


Leave a comment

Categories