Posted by: Jay | May 1, 2008

Shutterbug Stuff

I bit the bullet. On Ebay I got a Nikon D50 with a 28-80mm lens and 70-300mm lens along with some filters and a 1GB SD card. I paid $435 for the whole setup. I saw similar and lesser deals going for more, so I think I secured a good one. I should have it in a couple of days and will post some test pics as soon as I can.

I found a place that will digitize photos, negatives and slides starting at 19 cents apiece (24 cents for slides). Sounds cheap right? It is. How? The company does most of the work in India. Now when I first read that I thought, “Uh oh.” Let’s face it. You’re sending off memories captured on film and you want those things back. However, the Scan Cafe has received high marks from several sources. Check out the reviews here. I have about 500 slides, 125 of which I think are really worth digitizing, so I am going to try it out. Here’s how it works: You place your order and print out a UPS label. You ship, they scan and when they’re done, they send you an email with a link to look at what they did. They do light touch up and will remove dust for you as well. You choose only the ones you want to pay for (they will send the originals back). You make your choices, they ship the slides back with a DVD or CD of your images scanned at 3000dpi.

I put a Flickr widget over on the sidebar. I threw some images in there. Take a look.

Responses

  1. Great pics..Flordia makes for some very nice settings.


Leave a Reply

Categories

